My Hero

For my hero I have chosen my grandfather, Robert Price Sneed. My brother and I call him Pop or Poppy and others call him Bob Sneed. Bob is seventy-two years old and was born on September 4, 1940 in Durham, North Carolina. Bob started working at a service station and a filling station when he was growing up. During the summer, Bob worked on a fishing boat and then worked for a company called Moore Business Forms which he worked for twenty years and left. After, he started a company called Triangle Business Forms, he retired in 2008 and my dad has taken over and changed the name to MaraBull. Bob currently lives in Durham, North Carolina with his wife Sarah Sneed. Before he lived in Rocky Mount for four and a half years, and this is where my dad was born. Bob was born into a family with a father, mother, and two siblings, Ed and Betty Jean. His parents names were Carolyn Kime Sneed and Edward Price Sneed. Edward was a pharmacist at a drugstore and Bob wanted to be just like his father growing up. He got along with his siblings as a young boy and then he and his brother separated as they grew up. Unfortunately, the rest of his family has died. He went to Hope Valley Elementary School from first grade to tenth grade and Southern High School from eleventh grade through twelfth and the University of North Carolina for college. Bob played basketball at his high school and baseball, football, and basketball at his elementary school. In college he participated in water polo for one year. In the summertime Bob and his family lived on a 45-foot boat on the beach and he loved to ski and ride bikes. “I had a great life and was always busy,” said Bob. When Bob was a child his family had a dog named Bonnie and two cats. One was named Blacky and he does not remember the other. Their family also had three ponies for each kid. They had a nice fence and grassy area to keep the ponies in. Ronnie Strickland is Bob’s best friend, and they have known each other since first grade and still are friends! Bob told me that the best thing that has ever happened to him are his children and grandchildren. Some of the worst things that have happened to him is that his friend got killed in a hunting accident. Also, right after his daughter Beth was born, he had blood clots that almost cost him his life. The last thing that has happened to him is that my grandmother got cancer but was able to survive her tough times. Bob loved to read as a child, his favorite thing to read about were cowboys and Indians. He also loved to collect mini figures of cowboys and Indians. He still does that today.

 

My hero is very unique. He loves to joke around and play with family! Whenever I am sad or lonely, which I never am when I am around him, he will always be there to cheer me up! At dinner, Bob is always trying to find a way to make anyone laugh and is always telling stories. I love to go over to his house and have him make up and tell me stories. There is one story that I always laugh at, and it’s something with a fork, a hand and food! Another reason that Bob is unique is that he loves to go outside and garden! I love to go outside in his backyard and run around, I always wished that I had his backyard because I have always thought it was the coolest and most mysterious yard I have ever been in! This is why I think my hero is unique!

 

My hero is helpful. He is always asking people if they need help or any way he can assist them. Bob will never put down a chance to take my brother and me somewhere or to do something. Whenever my family goes out of town for the weekend or week, he and Sarah are always willing and excited to take care of my very energetic dog, a pug named Taco! Taco loves to go over to their house and run around in their awesome back yard and go on long walks! This is why I think my hero is one of the most helpful people in my world!

 

My hero is satisfied. He has “All he needs,” he told me in our interview, “Children, grandchildren, a daughter-in law, a wife, a house, and also food on their plates every day.” Bob is never greedy or selfish, and he always puts other people before himself. At dinners before he serves himself, everyone else who attends serves themselves first. He is happy because he does not need the material things in the world, he just needs family, friends, and a good dog. After talking with Bob, I have realized that all his memories happened with friends, and family members, not with the stuff that he got for Christmas or any other holiday. This is why I think my hero is satisfied.

 

The reason I have chosen Robert Price Sneed as my hero is for many reasons. He is always kind, helpful, funny, and so many more things I could list! He is and will always be one of my heroes in my life.. I love Facetiming him and listening to all of his stories that he tells. Some are funny and some are sad. I think it is fascinating how many interesting life experiences he has been through and continues to have. I could have chosen anyone else as my hero but no one could compare to my Poppy. I always have a blast wherever I am with him or when he comes over! I have had so much fun finding out cool and interesting stories about Bob Sneed, and he will always be a big part of my life and who I grow up to be!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *