My Hero

Here’s the inside:

And here’s the outside:

My hero and cousin, Hunter Bowman, is 20 years old and was born in Savannah, Georgia on December 19, 1992. He has lived there ever since then, except for college. His mother is named Catherine, his father is named Cam, and his sister is named Sarah. Hunter had a very happy childhood. He enjoyed making model planes and playing football, basketball and soccer. He loved to read and his favorite book was The Hobbit by J.R.R.Tolkien. His best friends were Raul Buelvas and Jimmy Brauner. Sadly, Raul died of cancer on December 25, 2011. Hunter’s favorite family vacation was a trip to Africa in 2012. He remembered all of the awesome African animals such as the lion. Hunter was a great student. His pets have been Luke the dog, Claude the cat, Leia the dog, and a shrimp. One of the best moments in his life is the time when he learned how to wrestle. He also has many good character traits which make him my hero. Here are a few.

One characteristic that Hunter Bowman has is perseverance. When his very good friend had cancer, he and a lot of other people got together and shaved their heads. His friend lost his hair because of the medicine he took, so Hunter and his friends decided that it would make him feel more comfortable if they all got rid of their hair too. They used it as a fundraiser for his friend’s cancer. I think this was a very brave thing for him to do because it required him to have lots of confidence and perseverance. Another thing that Hunter did was become an Eagle Scout. This is the top rank in boy scouts and only 5% of boy scouts make it to Eagle Scout. As you can see this would take lots of perseverance to achieve. Hunter is on the Vanderbilt football team but he hasn’t gotten to play in a football game yet. He is still training hard with the team with the hope that one day he will be able to play in a game. This, of course, also takes lots of perseverance. As you can see this is an outstanding character trait in my cousin, Hunter.

 

Hunter is a very generous person. He is always willing to share. For example he shared lots of his cookies with my sister and me. He also raised money to build a study place for homeless people. He helped build it and the whole thing was organized by him. It takes generosity to give that much of your time helping others. He also is always willing to play football or do other stuff with me, even if he has other things to do. I had a very long homework assignment, and he helped me get it done even though it took a long time. Hunter is always looking for ways to help even if it means a whole lot of hard work. Hunter is one of the most generous people I know.

Hunter is also very determined. If he sets out to do something he will definitely do it. As I told you earlier, he has trained very hard with the hope that one day he will be able to play in a game with the Vanderbilt football team. He used to build model planes, he told me, even if they were very hard to build. He also fishes for hours on end, even if it takes that long to catch a fish. I think that fishing takes lots of determination. He has trained his dog for a long time because he is obviously determined to have a good, obedient dog. One reason he is so determined is because both his parents have been very determined people. He never, ever gives up.

My cousin, Hunter, has influenced my life by giving me someone to look up to. He has inspired me to help others and never, ever give up. Without his inspiration, I would never be able to finish a hard homework problem or work hard when I am challenged. Hunter has always been nice to me and he has given me ideas for science experiments and school projects. He has taught me to be determined and generous with other people. He has also taught me good manners which can be very useful at parties. He has inspired me to give to Urban Ministries. Urban Ministries is an organization that gives food and supplies to homeless people. I admire my cousin Hunter and I am so lucky to have him in my life.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *