Hero Book

My hero is James Paul Cobb. He started his life in 1947 at the start of WWII in Mcalester Oklahoma. He had a brother who was a real pain to him because he made fun of him. Once, he grabbed the phone and heard about the bike he wanted from Santa. He immediately told James and was very happy when he told him. He also had a Cocker Spaniel that mysteriously disappeared one day and never returned. That happened when he was 13 years old. His best friend was his cousin, a boy named Billy Frank. He had very nice parents but in school he never had to go to kindergarten. His happiest moment is apparently when I was born. Fortunately, nothing bad really happened to him. He never in his life as a child had a vacation! Can you believe that? Let me tell you why I chose James Cobb as my hero.

James Cobb is a very generous person. He is very generous with his time, especially for a good cause. An example is when he volunteered In the pharmacy at the national Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, Maryland. He worked at the Bethesda Naval Hospital to help out when the U.S.S. Comfort was deployed. Just so you will know, the U.S.N. S. Comfort is a Mercy-class hospital ship that does not carry any offensive weapons. Firing on a Mercy-class ship is in violation of the Geneva Convention and would be considered a war crime. Another example of James’s generosity is when he volunteered in a FEMA command center during Hurricanes Andrew and Iniki. He is also very generous with information. Whenever I need to know something for school or if I just want to ask about something random, he comes right out and explains the whole thing with a diagram! My dad is really generous when it comes to helping others but this is just one characteristic out of many that made me choose my dad as my hero.

James Cobb is my hero because he is smart. He has a degree in education and pharmacy. He was a high school Chemistry and Physics teacher. Later he became a pharmacist and worked in the military reaching a high rank and receiving many awards. His rank in the military was the Eagle. He left the military after 30 years of service. He told me the reason he left was if you did not want to go higher than an Eagle you had to leave after your 30th year of service. I am proud of my dad for how smart he is!

James Cobb is my hero because he is really nice. He helps people when they need him. He has helped our neighbors several times. Like one time he helped our neighbor grill steaks. Another time, he helped out our landscapers. He gave absolute precise directions helping the landscapers know what to do. He also helps me with problems in school that I don’t understand. If I don’t understand something on homework, he explains how to do it with an example. He does not tell me the answer. James Cobb is very nice and never complains about helping me or other people.

James Cobb is a true leader, which is another reason why he is my hero. Whenever my mom gets sick, he goes immediately in charge. He replaces mom by doing 75% of the work mom usually does. He has me check on mom almost every hour. He also does the cooking. Whenever mom and I go to Maryland, he keeps running the house even when mom and I are gone, because when we get back he makes sure everything is clean and everything goes back to normal.

James Cobb has had a real impact on my life! Of course, he’s my dad and dads have a lot of influence on who you are. But he also is very helpful and gives me lots of information. I do not think I would be the person I am today without him. He has been a part of my life since I was very little and that really helped me later as I grew up. He is a real hero to everyone who knows him well and especially a hero to me.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *