My Hero Story, By Caity B

My Hero Book

My hero is my mom, Yuet Berry. She was born on November 30th, 1966. She spent most of her childhood in the country part of Hong Kong, China with her one older brother and her one younger brother. When she lived in Hong Kong, it was a territory of England. Hong Kong was about to become a part of China again and her parents wanted a better life. Her father moved to New York City when she was seven. As a child she said she was very quiet and shy. When she was in Elementary School she would barely talk because she wasn’t good at speaking English since she always spoke Chinese. She didn’t have many hobbies because she spent most, if not all, of her time working. My mom would either always have to watch her younger brother or work at her Dad’s restaurant or doing school work, which she barely ever had time for. When she was in Middle School she won a medal for having the highest grade point average in Spanish. When my mom was in college, she went to Temple University in Philadelphia and got her degree in Occupational Therapy. She worked as an Occupational Therapist for fifteen years until she moved to North Carolina. She currently is a substitute preschool teacher and a full time mom. My mom is a great person and I am about to tell you why.

 

One reason I admire my mom is because she is helpful. If I’m having any type of problem she is always there to give me advice or to help me with any concerns I have. My mom has always been there to help me and my sister with homework, which I have been thankful for at many different times. She isn’t only helpful to me, but on many different occasions I have seen her help a stranger for no reason other than to be nice. When I was in the fourth grade at our school’s chorus performance, there was a two year old girl choking on a lollipop and as soon as my mom noticed she was choking and unable to breathe, she ran over to girl and started slapping her back until the girl spit out the lollipop. Another time we were at the airport and there was a confused elderly lady who was having trouble getting around. She looked lost so my mom went over and helped the lady find where she needed to be and brought her back to her husband. Later that day I asked her why she helped her and she told me that the lady appeared to have dementia and needed help. She recognized it because she was an Occupational Therapist. My mom does many helpful things for me each day and without that I would be lost. This isn’t her only good character trait, she has so many more.

 

Another great character trait of hers is that she is very supportive of my sister and me. If I ever have anything from a piano recital to a school performance I can always count on her to be there watching and encouraging me. She is one of the only parents I know that is always there no matter what she has to do. She can always know what to say or do to make me feel better if I’m having a bad day. My mom always gets me where I need to be and she has made many sacrifices to do so. I appreciate this about her because if she wasn’t as supportive as she is, I would not be who I am today.

 

One other wonderful character trait of hers is that she can be very patient. Since my mom currently works as a substitute pre-school teacher, I know that must be a tough job which requires a person who is patient. Pre-schoolers can be wild and a pain sometimes. I also know there must be many times when my sister and I are fighting and arguing and she just tries to calm us down, even though I know she would probably like to yell at both of us. My mom works very hard at taking care of my sister and me and we probably drive her crazy all the time, but she has a great way of dealing with it. If she yelled every time we annoyed her all she would do is yell, but my mom is patient with us and I think that is a great character trait about her. My mom has many great character traits and these are only some of many.

 

My mom has had a huge impact on my life. For as long as I lived, she has always been there for me. She has pushed me to do my best my whole life. Whenever I don’t feel in the mood to do my homework or to go to piano lessons, she always encourages me to go, but not to be mean. I know she wants to help me because she knows that if I skip lessons or don’t do homework, I won’t accomplish anything. My mom also can’t be unhappy. She always stays smiling no matter what the situation is. My mom has been a big part of my life. She is a wonderful person and this is why she is my hero.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *