Hero Project

My Hero: Lauri Klein

by David K.

My hero is Lauri Klein. Lauri is My mom and lives with my brothers and dad and me. Throughout my mom’s childhood, she did many great things. My mom was born on November, 4th in 1968 and lived in Long Island, New York during her childhood. She helped with her community and actively participated in her synagogue. My mom always enjoyed walking into town with her parents to get ice cream or to sit on the dock and watch the boats go by while throwing bread to the ducks. She also loved hanging out with her friends and once old enough would cross the street daily on the weekend to play with her friends from her neighborhood.

One of the reasons I chose my mom as my hero is because she is a very loving a kind person. She loved her sister so much that she just couldn’t wait to wake her up in the morning to play. My aunt loved my mom too, but did not enjoy getting that early morning wake up call. My grandmother had to make a rule that my mom could not wake up her sister until 7:00 in the morning. My mom had to learn to read a digital clock so she would know when it was 7:00. So every morning after that , my mom would watch her digital clock until seven. Then she would run down the hall saying “Haha it;s seven o’clock, time to wake up!!!!!!!.” In this situation my showed her loving nature for her family.

Another trait that I admire in my mom is perseverance and determination. In fourth or fifth grade, my mom came home from school really happy. She told her parents that at school there had been a mock trial. A mock trial is a preview of what a real trial is and what lawyers do. My mom had to act as if she was a lawyer trying to win a trial. My mom said to her parents that from that day on she wanted to be a lawyer. She went to law school after college and studied very hard to achieve her goals. In order to be a lawyer in a particular state, you have to pass a very difficult test call the Bar Exam. She went on to pass the Bar in the states of North Carolina, Connecticut, New York, and New Jersey. It took a lot of hard work and determination to learn that much about the law! My mom is a lawyer today and a woman who perseveres in all challenging situations.

My hero shows lots of faith, courage, strength, and patience.

On December 24, 2011 Christmas Eve, my dad called my mom and I while we were running errands for Mitzvah Day. Mitzvah Day is when the Jewish community gets together and helps the poor and needy. My dad called to say he was not feeling well. There were no doctor’s offices open, so he had to go to the hospital. After about thirty minutes he called back saying that my mom needed to go into the hospital to get the full story on how my dad was doing. She was scared, but showed faith and courage while she worked out all of the details of getting to the hospital. She had to find places for my brothers and me to spend the night as well as calling friends to help her with her with other obligations.

The next day was Mitzvah Day. It was one of the best turn outs the community had in a while. But one person was not there, our mom. About three hours into Mitzvah Day, a woman showed up in big sunglasses that were hiding her tears. It was our mom. She was weak and devastated about the news she had gotten from the hospital, and yet she still came to Mitzvah Day to make sure everything was going well there too. The news about my dad was that he had a heart attack and would have to have triple bypass surgery. Throughout the week long ordeal, my mom did a great job keeping everything together for our family and staying strong. She showed lots of patience sitting for hours in the hospital with my dad before, during and after his surgery. This is meaningful to me because without my mom’s strength, our family would have had a long struggle through this ordeal.

My hero is very determined, patient, and loving. She has also influenced my life by raising me to be a good person. She has taught me right from wrong and shown me many different ways to accomplish what I set out to do. My mom drives me almost everywhere and is able to control three wild boys. She does a great job keeping up the house while my dad is not around and organizing stuff for us to do if she can not be around. My mom is an amazing person and I am proud to call her my hero.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *