My Hero By Tyler C.

My Hero: Sam Carpenter

By: His son Tyler


My hero is Sam Carpenter, also known as my dad. He is my hero because he thrives when I am doing well. When I am not doing my best at something, he shows me how to improve. He was born on Martha’s Vineyard but he was raised in Orange, New Jersey. He took a commuter train everyday to high school. Soon my dad discovered lacrosse. He was good at the very start! He also worked very hard in school and on the lacrosse field. He set many goals for himself and achieved them. These are just a few of the reasons that my dad is my hero. Here are a few more:

My hero is very confident in himself. He was confident when he entered Middlebury University as a freshman. He was a three sport athlete during that first year of college. He played basketball,football and mainly lacrosse. During his college career, he played against and with some notable athletes such as Bill Belichik in lacrosse. After graduating from college, he focused on lacrosse and played one year in the MLL (Major League Lacrosse) for the Denver Rifels now known as the Denver Outlaws. After that, he began coaching. He was a coach at some major college lacrosse programs.


Another trait that I admire in my dad is that he is a very strong leader. His leadership is a big part of who he is. This trait helps him lead others to achieve their goals. When he is coaching a team, he requires everyone to do their best work, on and off of the field. He tells them that if they do anything inappropriate, he will suspend them or even kick them off of the team. His teams always work very hard for my dad because they respect him. They know that he means what he says and they always show their best effort for him. That is what being a great leader is all about.

My dad is a hero to me because I think that he is very successful! He has done a lot in his life to get where he is right now. One his major accomplishments was winning a gold medal when he was coaching the USA under nineteen world team. I remember crying because as soon as he won the title, I saw my brother waving the USA flag! I was so jealous because my brother got to wave the flag and I didn’t, but mostly I was crying because I was so proud of my dad and his team. He has coached many other teams in his life, and I am always very proud when I see him out there working on the field with his teams.

My dad has impacted my life so much! If he wasn’t in my life, I would be the person I am today. He is always there for me and I know I will forever be able to count on him. He supports me in everything I do and for that I am not only proud, but grateful too. He will always be my hero.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *