My Hero Tyler S.

My Hero: Frank Young

     My hero is my grandpa. His name is Frank William Young. He was born on July 21, 1950. He is my hero because he is a good person who has conquered adversity in his life. This is his story:

As a kid, my grandpa lived in a city in Missouri and loved to ride his bike. He would play stickball in the street with his friends until a car came, and then they would jump out of the way yelling, “CAR!!!” He got married when he was young and had three children who were all girls. When he was about twenty years old, he started having problems with his knees. He found out that he was suffering from arthritis. It is not common to have arthritis at that young of an age, so he has been very courageous to have dealt with that type of pain for most of his life. Even though he is often in pain, he makes everyone around him happy. He makes life seem fun at all times and always succeeds in cheering me up when I’m sad or mad.

My grandpa is a hero to me because he is very optimistic. Every day he wakes up to a new day of pain and tries to make the best of it. He never complains and is full of joy. He is a ray of sunshine to everyone around him. When things are looking down for you, he will turn your view around. For example, when my brother lost at bowling, grandpa made him see it was a chance to improve on his throw. I admire him for being able to see the positive side of any situation.

Another reason that I chose my grandpa as my hero is that he is very kind and forgiving. One time, when my grandpa was a kid, he was hanging from a pole at school, and someone pushed him. He had to go to the hospital and woke up with his two front teeth pushed up into his gum. The next few months my grandpa had to stay home and drink food mushed up through a straw. When he went back to school, he didn’t change the way he treated the person who pushed him. He quickly forgave him and moved on. This explains why my grandpa is very kind. If you do something to anger my grandpa, he will forgive you. When you do something bad, he will not hold a grudge. He puts things that have happened in the past into ancient history. In other words, he will not be mad at something that you have done a long time ago but not told him about. For instance, when my mom finally confessed about something she did, he laughed about it. Here is what happened. We were visiting my grandparents and my mom was talking about stuff she got away with. She told us about the time she hurt herself badly. She was biking down the street and was looking at the ground because of the way the gravel looked. She did not see where she was going and ran into a pole. She came home with a huge bruise and did not tell them. When my grandma heard this she was shocked. My grandpa just let out a huge laugh!

Another reason my grandpa is my hero, is because he is very energetic. Whenever my family and I go to see my grandpa, we go bowling and he always plays with us. He wins every time! He also goes out golfing with my dad and uncles when we visit him. His hobby is wood working, and my brother and I help him mow the lawn in the summertime. He always finds time to play ping-pong with us or do other activities with his grandchildren.

My hero is all of these things and more. These are just some of the reasons my whole family and I love my grandpa so much. He has taught me how to have fun in life no matter what and that it doesn’t matter what other people think. My grandpa is my Hero.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *