iPads

iPads have become an overall happy addition to Durham Academy’s learning system. One major advantage is that it saves room. What would normally take up an immense amount of backpack space can now be compiled into one device. Also, it allows us to have a computer everywhere we go. So if we need to make a minor change to a google doc, I can just do it very quickly in class. Evernote is an especially useful tool. However, there are some disadvantages.

I’ll just start out with the point of this paragraph, iPads are not as efficient as laptops. Before I start my rant, I want to make one thing clear. I understand that these are minor issues, and I sound like a spoiled brat by complaining about them. I’m not saying we should replace them, that would be too expensive and laborious at this point. Okay, here we go. First of all, it just feels more natural to use a mouse. This feeling may not be shared by students who are less technologically inclined, and can’t tell the difference. However, for many of us, using the touch screen just feels awkward, ESPECIALLY when writing. Which brings me to my next point. There is the matter of the keyboard, this is in all likelihood my biggest reason I would prefer a laptop. iPad keyboards are just not the same as a normal keyboard. As I am typing this, I am thinking about how much faster the words would be typed if I was using a traditional keyboard. Okay, rant over.

Now, I feel I need to repeat myself, I’m overall happy with the iPad. I wish to emphasize this. The iPad was an excellent addition to my school life, and I’m glad it exists. Don’t take them away, but if you could go back in time, I’d recommend considering laptops.

Side note: Skitch is horrible

Picture source: http://www.flickr.com/photos/50807901@N00/2271513941

16 thoughts on “iPads

  1. Will, I love your post it has great opinions and lots of funny remarks. I loved how you said “I am being a brat”. That was so funny!

  2. Hmmm an interesting rant, I disagree with you on the subject of the mouse and the keyboard. In my opinion, it is easier to use the iPad touch screen than to use the tiny, inefficient and annoying computer keyboard. Furthermore, “students who are less technologically inclined” might have trouble with the keyboard, but there is really no simple, easy to use voice recognition on the computers as their is on the IPads.

  3. Great post Will! I agree with you on many points however I would like to politely disagree with a couple. First of all, if you want a keyboard all you have to do is get a Bluetooth keyboard and the iPad keyboard is not that much slower if at all. Second of all, I would much rather have the iPad than a laptop and I like the touch screen (and I am very technologically inclinedand so are my classmates who agree with me.) But don’t think I completely hate your post. I don’t. I agree with you about how they save space, Evernote is great (despite some of my peers thoughts), and how skitch iis awful (but I still have to use it.) Now I feel like I need to repeat myself to so overall great post and I agree.

  4. I agree with Will and think that it does save space. I like using Evernote too. I also like your “raft”!

  5. To all the people talking about the keyboard point, I stated in the post that some people might be okay with using the keyboard. I didn’t phrase it very well, however. When I said people who are “Technologically inclined” I meant people who use computers often. I, of course, fall into that category. This applies to the touch screen too. Now, to the people who say you can just add the keyboard peripheral to the iPad, why would you do that? If you’re going to turn your iPad into a laptop anyway, just get a laptop. Also, Alex, please elaborate why you like the iPad keyboard. All I got is that it is tiny, which it isn’t. It’s at least the same size. In fact: I’m 80% sure it is bigger.

  6. I am glad that you made it clear that you do not want DA to get rid of iPads. I agree with you that computers would be better, but… They take up space and they cost more. By the way, thank you for commenting on my post.

  7. Sorry Will, I ment to say that the Computer built in mouse is tiny and annoying, the hook on one can break, fall and be lost. And the iPad does have MUCH better voice recognition software then the computer does.

  8. Again, it all falls under personal preference, I don’t care much for voice control, I find it inaccurate and gimmicky. Same for the mouse, that all falls under opinion.

  9. That’s a really funny post, Will. I agree that writing can feel awkward and so can drawing, but I do enjoy having the iPads to keep all of our stuff on. Wouldn’t it be harder to carry a laptop around instead of an iPad?

  10. Not really, Ellen. Laptops are about the same size, and a mouse can easily fit in a small compartment.

  11. Also, Ellen, you can easily access evernote from a laptop, and I assume it most likely has an equivalent of reminders.

  12. I just noticed Will Carson’s comment and HOLD ON, Doodle Buddy isn’t very advanced either. Even Skitch is better than that (in my opinion). I more had MS Paint in mind, even then, none of them will ever compare to Adobe Photoshop.

  13. That post was a good mixture of the good and the bad of I-Pads and I agree that typing on an I-Pad can be kind of hard. Nice rant!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *