Hero

Here is the story of my Grandmother, my Hero

 

On July 4th, 1947 my grandma Susan Kaye Jones was born as the first child to the parents Verie and Charles Hawkinberry. I chose my grandmother as my hero for several reason. The first is that she is one of the most confident and self-assured people I have ever know. My grandmother grew up in poor environment. She never had expensive outfits to wear and all of her clothes were hand-me-downs. Sometimes she would have to get lower quality items such as goat’s milk because they couldn’t afford cow’s milk.Though she also knew that her chance of attending college was slim because of finances, she was still a good student and didn’t discourage herself. When she was a child, she never let being poor affect her confidence. She carried herself with pride and was very content with her life. This is one of the reasons I admire her.

I also admire my grandmother for her smart decisions. In her teens and twenties, my grandmother decided to focus her education on learning a trade. Instead of going to a regular public school or college, she attended mixology school, which is basically bartending. She also went to secretarial schools that taught her how to manage a business. These decisions shaped her future jobs which were owning night clubs, tanning salons, and showing homes to hopeful buyers. These jobs helped my grandmother support her family after she got married. Even though many of these jobs required hard work and long hours, my grandmother made time for her family and friends by throwing big pot-luck dinners on the weekends. She also used the money she made to take her family to the beach every year. Her decision to learn how to work early in her life made it possible for her children to grow up with more financial security.

My grandmother is my hero because she is also very, very brave. In her later years, after her kids had grown up and had the grandkids that she loved so much, she and her husband opened a spa and tanning salon. A few years later she was diagnosed with a knee problem and over a period of six years had both of them replaced. Again one and a half years later she was diagnosed with lung cancer which was a result of smoking as a young adult. But now, after chemotherapy, she is still my grandmother living with my grandfather and still having fun with us. Throughout all of the surgeries and chemotherapy treatment, she remained courageous and determined to get better. She even kept working during this time and she was never too tired or in too much pain to visit with her family. Whenever we go to her house, she welcomes us with a big hug no matter what time it is.

My grandmother also showed a lot of determination. My grandma was very determined to be able to walk when she had both knees replaced. In her later years, my hero had to get both of her knees replaced with a plastic and metal implant. She struggled to walk and she was most likely going to have to use a cane, but now she walks on her own with no problem. Her determination helped her get back to normal and I am really proud of her for that.

My grandmother has had an impact on my life because she shows me that if you try, and you are determined, you can do anything. I love my grandmother, and she will always be my hero.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *