Henri Matisse

On Tuesday, December 4, my entire grade and I visited the Nasher Museum in Durham, NC. As we were about to leave I was thinking oh great, another art trip. I was wrong however, during the time I was there, I realized that there was some very remarkable art in front of my eyes. Throughout the entire exhibit the work of French artist Henri Matisse caught my eye. Henri Matisse was born in southern France in the year 1869. Matisse was initially a lawyer but developed an interest of art at the age twenty-one. In the beginning of his career he painted still-lifes and landscapes. He is known for using a wide variety of colors in his paintings. Around 1906 he met Pablo Picasso who was 12 years younger than himself. The two became lifelong friends as well as well as rivals. By the 1920s he was hailed as an upholder of the classical tradition in French painting. his mastery of the expressive language of  color and drawing  won him recognition as a leading figure in modern art.

Citations

1. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/mati/hd_mati.html

 2. http://en.wikapedia.org/wiki/Henri_Matisse

2 thoughts on “Henri Matisse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *