My Very Best Birthday By:Luci J.

We were hard on their trail. We knew all of their secrets. We were going to find the next clue. We pushed through the wind, recklessly kicking rocks out of the way. This is how I felt on my tenth birthday.

“Look under that bench I bet it’s there,” said my friend. I gently angled my head up so I could see the plain wooden plates that held the seat together. Disappointed, I swept the mulch off of my sweatshirt and said in a low tone, “Nope it’s not here.” “Well maybe it is under the bench over here,” my friend offered. I could swear I saw a frightened look flash across her face. “This was not the way it was supposed to be,” I thought as I took yet another unsuccessful dip under a bench, they should not be scared. Frantically I looked under the bushes. I glanced helplessly at my dad as he sipped his disgusting bitter tasting, steaming coffee thoughtfully. He slowly gave a nod at a bench far away from the section where I had been looking. I curiously walked gently over to the area almost as if hunting pray. I looked back at my dad for confirmation…he nodded discretely. I surveyed the bench, measured it up. It was normal but somehow it had caused a terrible nuisance. I immediately felt a burning hatred for this bench that had caused me so much trouble, I felt like pounding it, but there was work to be done.

I lowered myself slowly under almost dreading what I would see. I looked up. I blinked. I squinted my eyes. I lifted my hand. I slowly smiled. I had found the next clue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *