My Trip to the Nasher- by Ellen C.

Last week, my advisory went to the Nasher Museum of Art. I had gone there once before with my grandparents. The part I liked best was Jason Rubell’s collection. I think it is really cool that he started collecting paintings when he was only thirteen, a little older than me. Jason Rubell collected art from the age of 13 to 21. Jason grew up in New York with his parents and learned to appreciate art because his parents started collecting art early in their marriage. Jason began collecting art of his own when he was thirteen and a family friend, Keith Haring, gave him a painting that he had made. Afterwards, he collected mainly paintings by Keith Haring, Jenny Holzer, Sol LeWitt and Francesco Clemente. Jason Rubell graduated from Duke in 1991 and collected art until the age of 21. The collection will be at the Nasher for a while longer, so take some of your time to visit.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *