My Hero

My Hero: Wesley Leathers

By: Aaron Leathers

 

For my hero project I chose to write about my brother Wesley Leathers. My brother is fourteen years old. He lives in Houston, Texas but he was born in Columbia, South Carolina. He was always on the popular side at school. He loved his Language Arts class in elementary school. Wesley has two siblings, my older sister Whitney and me. His childhood was fun but it had exceptions. He loved to go to his grandma’s house in South Carolina and he liked the family vacations we went on. His favorite childhood memory was when we went to Atlanta for the first time and spent the weekend with our uncle and aunt. Now, my brother helps out with my dad’s business. He says the worst thing that ever happened to him was breaking up with his first girlfriend named Desiree. Today he goes to Klein High School in Houston. Things haven’t really changed with him since he was younger, but he loves to keep his hair in good condition. His favorite subject is football. He has that subject because he plays a sport and it substitutes for PE. His main hobby is football but he also enjoys hanging out with friends. My brother’s best friend now is Kenny. Kenny is sixteen and they like to workout together and go swimming. When he was in South Carolina, his best friend was Ryan and they would go to the movies and go skating together. Wesley says his greatest accomplishment was when he became a Starter on the Blue football team for freshmen which is the highest team you can join. My brother is a great guy and a good motivator and that’s why I chose him for my hero story.

 

A character trait that my brother Wesley has is bravery. He will fight for anything that is wrong to make it right. One example is when he saw some kids at his school doing something they shouldn’t be doing, so he went over and stopped it. Wesley has been an idol and a hero to me forever. He is always there for the people he cares about and he never backs down from making things go right. I admire him for being brave and standing up for the right thing.

Another trait that my brother has is that he is very bold. One example of this is that he moved from South Carolina to Texas leaving all of his friends behind. My brother was a walk on to the football team. I think that is hard to do in Texas. Wesley made lots of friends on the first day of school, but he never forgot about the ones back at home. It was hard for him to move from state to state but he won that battle and that’s why I think Wesley is very bold.

 

Another trait that Wesley has is that he is encouraging. He is encouraging because he is the reason I started to play football. My brother has motivated me to play more. He was a big help when I was with him in the summer and he was like a second coach for me. Wesley is a 6’2,” 200 pound defensive end and I want to be just like him. He works on his skills and he doesn’t give up. I love that about him and I’m sure that he will help me get up to the NFL and be there for me every step of the way.

 

Another character trait Wesley has is that he is very mature. My brother would never do something that was stupid or could lead to something very bad. He would always tell me what to do in a good way. For example, once I said we should do soda and mentos but he told me that nothing good would come out of that. Then, we found something to do just as fun but less dangerous. Wesley has always been a mature person and he would never break the rules or put people in danger. He would follow the rules even if his friends do not. He would make good decisions even when other kids are only thinking about fun or might be dangerous.

My brother has had a big influence on my life. He inspired me to play football. Over the summer he taught me the basics and helped me with my skills. Wesley is a starter on his football team and since we both play defense, he helped me get better at that position. My brother taught me workouts that I could do and he helped me practice over the summer. We sometimes went to the gym and ran on the treadmill and elliptical. We would run about five miles then go for a swim. My brother is a great example to me and that’s why I love him so much.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *