One Day of Adulthood (from Cosmic)


Photo credit: RAYWAL65 from morguefile.comThis year, our winter assigned reading book is Cosmic by Frank Boyce. In this book there is a boy who looks remarkably like an adult, so much so that people mistake him for one. He takes advantage of this, and gets into all sorts of trouble. He remarks that adulthood is wasted on adults. This is what I would do if I was an adult for a day, like I just woke up as an adult in the morning.

I’m a huge fan of off-path hiking. Bushwhacking, scrambling, whatever you want to call it, I love it. I can’t stand walking along the paved paths into woods, though. So, if I was an adult, I would borrow my parents credit card and go into some of the best area for exploration [NOTE: most of these are 18 or 21+]. EXPLORING IS AWESOME! Once I’m done exploring, I may be satisfied. If not, I would go to my parents and ask them to tell me what they had meant when they said, “I’ll tell you when you’re older.” Nothing special, but they’re things that I would really enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *