Hero Story and Picture

 

 

My Hero: Spencer Hallyburton

by: Scott H.

Spencer Hallyburton was born in the Chapel Hill Hospital on December 6th, 1995. He is my older brother, and I admire him. My parents tell many funny stories about the two of us growing up. As a baby, Spencer had some ups and downs. While born very healthy, his hair was very thin and light blond. If anyone tried to rub his head he would immediately start screaming. He loved a song by the band Hootie and the Blowfish. He would stop screaming when my parents played the song and he would start singing along. He was very interested in sports at a young age and loved Dr. Suess books. When I was born, I would sometimes cry for a long time. Spencer’s solution would be to put on headphones and read. We have had a lot of fun as brothers, and he has had a huge impact on my life. I look up to him and think of him as a hero. Here are some of the reasons why.

 

Spencer and I attend the same camp each year. About half way through the summer, we both signed up for a hiking trip. The hiking trip was called the Hardcore. The Hardcore was a hiking trip in the Pisgah National Forest for three days and we would hike about 50 miles. When we got there, it started to down pour. We had to put up our tarps fast before we got soaked. Spencer helped me put up my part because I was younger than most people one the trip. After that, still on the first day we were going to hike twenty miles.When we were about half way there when we were hiking up a huge mountain called Cold Mountain I had had some sort of heat stroke and I could barely walk. Spencer took my day pack and carried mine as well as his. I felt much better after that. That is one of the times my brother showed helpfulness and kindness. I admirer my brothers kindness and helpfulness because I have always tried to be kind and helpful and Spencer is one of the reasons that I am that. Spencer is also helpful because he helps build me up in many ways.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spencer has always been a good brother and student, as well as an athlete. He has always been on the advanced track for math and always works hard to do everything he needs to do. When he took the PSAT, he had scored almost perfect in Math and had done very well in English. He has been sent many letters from colleges telling him that they are interested in him. He also has a lot of common sense when he is driving. He is also a great athlete. He plays Soccer, Basketball, and lacrosse. He is very athletic and that helps him with everything else in life.I admire Spencer’s intelligence and athleticism because he makes a great role model for me and I hope that one day I will be something like him.

 

When Spencer and I went to Falling Creek Camp together, we both decided to go on a white water rafting trip on the Green River. It was a fairly easy level river but Spencer and I were just starting out. It was a very hot day out and Spencer and I were dehydrated. I had had a headache and paddling became harder. My brother had shown great trustworthiness and fortitude because he also had headache but he kept both of us going. I admire his trustworthiness very much.

 

These are just some of the traits that my brother has. I know that there are other but these are some of the best I think he has. He is 16 right now and he has helped me through my entire life to become the person that I want to be when I grow up. He has had a huge impact on my life and I really look up to him.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *