Hero

This is my hero story and picture:

 

My Hero: Bruce C. (AKA my dad)

by: Virginia C.

My hero is Bruce Capehart. He is my dad. He was born on October 29, 1965 in Columbus, Ohio. He currently lives in North Carolina with my sister Camille, our mom Tracey, our dog Seuss, cat Molly and me. When he was younger, he also had two dogs named Maggie and Sam, and two cats named Freddie and Lisa.. He has a younger brother, my uncle Alex. My dad’s younger life was pretty different from mine. He walked to and from school, he did not have as much homework, so he had more free time. My dad did not play on a sports team, but he played a lot of football with friends in his neighborhood, and enjoyed reading about history. He went to Texas CHristian University and Southwestern Medical School. Now, he works as a Psychiatrist. He works with veterans who come home from the war, and have trouble with their emotions after returning to real life..

One of the traits I admire about my dad is how hard-working he is. Sometimes, my dad will stay up really late to finish a project, and only get a few hours of sleep. He drives me all over the Triangle so I can play soccer, even if he has work to do. He works a full-time job and almost another half of one. He gets up really early some mornings so he can go to work and get back in time to take me and/or my sister to soccer. He never complains or makes a big deal out of all he does for our family and that makes me proud.

In my opinion, my dad is very brave and courageous as well. He was in the army for a while. Even though that wasn’t his job, he worked as a medic part-time. He left our house to go and train for a few days each month when I was younger. I remember asking him, “Why aren’t you going to be here for my birthday?” I didn’t understand why he had to leave when I was turning really young. Now that I am older, I know that he gave me the best gift of all. He was protecting my family, our friends, and our country. I admire my dad’s courage, and he has taught me to not be afraid in challenging situations.

Another trait that I appreciate in my dad is that he is very honest and reliable. For example, if you tell him something, he won’t tell anyone unless you want him to. He is always very honest with everyone in my family. If there is something I need to say, but I am not sure how to say it, my dad makes it easier for me. I always know I can count on my dad to help me handle my problems and that he will respect the parts I want to keep private.

Those three traits are just a small part of all of the good things that make my dad a hero. I am very lucky to have him in my life, because he has taught me to be honest, to keep my promises and do what I say I will do. He has shown me by example to always work hard, and take some chances. This is why I chose my dad as my hero.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *