“Grown upness is wasted on grown ups” -Liam Digby, Cosmic

 

If I was an adult for a day, I’d… probably not do much really. I mean, this is mainly due to time restraint. If I had a month or two, I’d settle down in a house, get a job, earn a good salary, and eventually use my earnings to have fun. To be honest, I don’t really like this quote. This is because while yes, you can to anything you want, but you need to think about it long term. Adults have freedom, but they also have more responsibilities that weigh down their freedoms. In fact, I’d dare to say that “Grown upness” is not as good as youth or adolescence. When you’re young, you also have responsibilities, I am in no way denying that. However, those dilemmas are partially solved by people in your life by people that are more wise. In other words, your parents. When you’re an adult, you’re given a driver’s license, told how credit cards work, and there, that’s it, you’re on your own. I know I’m dancing around the topic here, but the story would be incredibly uninteresting, for aforementioned reasons. Whatever age you are, you always want to be a different age. It’s a “The grass is always greener” type of situation. Kids want to be teens, teens want to be adults, and adults want to be kids again. What I’m trying to say with this is that I don’t like this quote because it feels like it’s coming from someone who doesn’t understand how the world works.

Quote is from “Cosmic” by Frank Cottrell Boyce.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *