My hero

In class we all made books about our heroes. My hero is my grandma. Here is my story about my hero.

 

My Hero: Ann Yeakyung Kim

By: Katie Kim

 

My hero is my grandma, Ann Yeakyung Kim. She was born on March 24, 1936. She had a hard life growing up. She had six siblings; three sisters and three brothers. When she was young her youngest sister passed away at a very young age. When she was about my age, she was walking back from school and she saw her uncle being carried away by the Japanese soldiers. She couldn’t do anything about it because she knew that they would take her away too. This was all happening when the Japanese occupied Korea. Although there were some hard times, there were also some good times too. When she was growing up she used to go with her siblings to ponds and rice farms and catch dragonflies, butterflies and little animals like that. She went to a little school, but even though it was small, she still loved it. One reason she loved her school so much was because it was surrounded with so much nature. At her school she was a very good student. She loved to read and write, and that is what she would sometimes do in her free time.

 

My grandma is a hero to me for many reasons but one of the most important is that she is very very kind and loving. Whenever she is here visiting us, she tries to help out as much as she can. She always tries to help take care of all of us including our dog Kriska. She helps out by driving us to our activities no matter where they are. She helps around the house with the dishes, the laundry, cooking and pretty much anything you could imagine. My grandmother was so kind and loving to my grandfather, especially when he was sick. When he was sick, she would go visit him and help him out. To me, she is one of the kindest people that I know, and that is just one of the many reasons she is my hero.

 

My grandmother is also very unique. Not many people I know her age can get up every morning and walk about four miles. I also don’t know many people that can go golfing and walk to all of the holes. My grandma is the only person who will fly for thirteen hours to see her family. She does more that I could ever imagine. She always brings us gifts from whereever she goes. She has tried so hard to get her English pronunciation right and I know that must be very hard for her. She is really unique for knowing several languages. My grandma is always doing something amazing. From knitting to golfing, and anywhere in between. I admire her for how special and unique she is!

 

To me, my grandma is very independent. She is always on her own, doing everything by herself. My grandma has lived on her own for a very long time, and has taken care of herself so well. She takes care of herself the best she can and that takes a lot of dedication. She is always driving on her own and thinking about others. She always buys special presents for us on our birthdays and for Christmas. She does so much without anyone else helping her and to me that is so great.

 

My grandmother has had an impact on me and so many others. She is always so caring, loving, unique, and independent. When I grow up I would like to be just like her and I think many other people respect those qualities in her too. She has encouraged me to help others when I can and to take care of others in my family. She has encouraged me to do what I love to do. Whenever she is here she will always try to take me to gymnastics and that to me is how she shows her support. She does so much for others and that is why she is my hero. I’m very lucky to have a grandmother like her in my life!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *